Time is precious: record how you have spent it.

I’ve tried a couple of tools out lately.The time-tracking tool I’m using right now is from Yast, and it’s free, unless you want to pay for additional features, of course. I also installed an app on my smartphone, called Gleeo a while ago: it’s a freebie and it works well, but I don’t always have my phone handy and I didn’t like the way it displayed how I had spent my time.

I’m also a list-maker and when it comes to time management, I rather like this recent blog post on “Ask a Freelancer“, but my lists are just pieces of scrap paper that float around my desk looking untidy when they are actually crucially important! I’ve always had a list for things to do in the immediate future (today, or this week at least: really urgent stuff is asterisked), and one for longer term aims (in the next month or two). Sometimes I have one for very long term aims, too, and once a week or so, these get updated. I’ve also learnt, when taking my own notes at a meeting, to use asterisks to denote things that I need to do: these can get transferred onto my usual lists, or just get done in one go so that they never appear on the main lists.

However, I much prefer looking at lists of things that I’ve done, as opposed to lists of things “to do”. Reflecting like this helps to keep me focussed on priorities because if I know I’ll look back at how I spent my time then I’ll make an effort to impress myself! That’s why although my Yast account has my professional projects listed, it also has projects called “housework” and “knitting”: these things are important to me and I like to allow them into my day since I work from home, but I also record my time, to keep them under control.

By recording the time I spent on my priority activities, I can have the satisfaction of looking at a day well spent. I like the way Yast displays my days’ and weeks’ activity back to me. I don’t beat myself up when I have empty days (sometimes I just forgot to set Yast recording), but I do congratulate myself for days that are full of the colours of projects that I believe I should be working on!

What is your top time management secret?!

3 thoughts on “Time is precious: record how you have spent it.

  1. andrewmarsh1 October 2, 2014 / 9:19 pm

    Hi Jenny – time management – Turn the computer off!!

Leave a Reply

