A new start, in social media steps.

I wanted to record some of the social media related steps I’ve needed to take, since leaving the University of Warwick:

1) Start a new blog here on WordPress because I was using Warwick’s own blogging platform. I’ve got a lot to learn about how WordPress works and I’m yet to add information “about me” and to learn about its features: as I do learn, I shall blog about it. (Aside: I find it amusing that the spell-checker here can’t recognise “blog” or “blogging” or even “WordPress”!)

2) Edit Twitterfeed to stop picking up on my old blog and start picking up on this one. Twitterfeed is one account that I forgot to update with my personal e-mail address before I left Warwick, but fortunately I remembered the password. Phew!

3) Install the Evernote web clipper onto my Chrome browser on my home computer.

4) Install the Diigo bookmarklet on my home computer.

5) Add Hootsuite as a homepage tab on my browser. (I also need to revise the settings for e-mails and texts from both Twitter and Hootsuite, and to generally clean this account up!)

6) Change my job title status on LinkedIn, and I need to edit the text all about me there, too.

So there is a lot still to do!

4 thoughts on “A new start, in social media steps.

  1. Catherine May 9, 2013 / 8:58 am

    Good luck! Please keep us regularly updated about your adventures!

  2. Brian Kelly (UK Web Focus) May 29, 2013 / 2:54 pm

    Hi Jenny
    Good luck with the new job, new country and new experiences!
    I will be following you into the unknown shortly, but not quite as daring as you – I’m being made redundant and will be working from home!
    Keep in touch

    Brian

  3. jennydelasalle May 31, 2013 / 2:05 pm

    Thanks Brian and Catherine, I’m sure I’ll have plenty of library/information science adventures to write about.

    It is a shame about the redundancy Brian: I’m sure you’ll find opportunities and I look forward to reading about them on your blog!

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

